History of Canada

Map of Canada
Canada is a country in North America that borders the United States. Canada touches three oceans: the Atlantic Ocean, the Pacific Ocean, and the Arctic Ocean. It is a bilingual country and the languages of the country are English and French. Indigenous people of Canada include the Inuit, Metis, and First Nations. It is estimated that these people settled in Canada over 9,500 years ago.

Later o­n, the Vikings sailed to Canada and explored the territory. Many years after the Vikings hit Canada, England and France sent out explorers to continue exploring the territory. For a period of time, the area was known as New France, and later o­n it was known as Canada under British Imperial Control. Canada has grown since those days and now has a red and white flag with a maple leaf in its center. It currently has three territories and ten provinces.

The three territories are known as Yukon, Nunavut, and Northwest Territories. Canada's ten provinces include Newfoundland and Labrador, Manitoba, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, British Columbia, New Brunswick, o­ntario, Saskatchewan, and Quebec. After Russia, Canada is the second largest country in the world. Winters are harsh in many areas of the country, and summer temperatures are mild. Depending o­n location, temperatures may vary. Canada has many scenic points and it is a popular place to visit. o­ne main attraction of Canada is Niagara Falls, o­ne of the largest waterfalls in the world. Other cities people enjoy visiting in Canada include Toronto, Montreal, Quebec City, and Vancouver. No matter what time of year, Canada is a beautiful place that is worth seeing.